Phil Mickelson hits moving ball at U.S. Open

Mickelson is celebrating his 48th birthday, and it's one he is sure to remember.

Future Hall of Famer Phil Mickelson drew the ire of golf analysts and fans around the world with a choice he made on the 13th hole at Shinnecock Hills.

Mickelson took a two-shot penalty for the infraction, then finished up for what was initially reported to be a quadruple bogey nine. He himself apologised, insisting that he had "meant no disrespect". Taking his two-shot penalty, the extremely unusual incident divided viewers between those who condemned the action, and those who saw the amusing side of it.

He said, 'I don't know what [my] score that is.

And just in case you didn't understand, he added the following while speaking to reporters: "If somebody's offended by that, I apologize".

He breached Rule 14-5 for making a stroke while the ball was moving and was handed a two-stroke penalty, with the American taking two more putts to take his total on the hole to 10 shots.

"No question it was going to go down into the same spot behind the bunker".

Mickelson began the day six over par and was greeted by an adoring NY crowd singing happy birthday and cheering him around the course.

The start of that sequence was for bogey on the par-four 13th. "I've had it with the USGA and the way they run their tournaments".

Phil Mickelson, needing only a US Open title to become the sixth man to complete the career Grand Slam, will still be gunning for the elusive victory this weekend.

Mickelson, while putting on the 13th green, smacked a 15 footer by the cup. "At that time, I just didn't feel like going back and forth", he told unusual.

"I've wanted to do it many times before and finally did".

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.